Camping Gorges du Verdon » Tourism in Castellane in the Verdon

Tourism in Castellane in the Verdon

  • Camping Castellane Village Et Cité De Caractère International Ciela Village
  • Eglise St Victor

    Castellane is the gateway to the Gorges du Verdon and borders Lake Castillon, one of the most impressive in the Verdon Valley. This is nature at its most beautiful, from the chaos of the Gorges to the French Pre-Alps, this area is home to a magnificent lake nestled in the hollow of a majestic environment. A medieval town, originally built on the famous ‘Roc’ that overhangs it, Castellane has managed to preserve its cultural and architectural heritage. Stroll through the narrow back streets and discover the local craft shops. You can enjoy the bracing mountain air of the French Alps and the laid-back atmosphere of Provence…

    During your stay in Castellane, you will not have time to get bored, that’s for sure! You can enjoy a wide range of activities of all kinds for both children and parents!

    Castellane, medieval town in the Verdon

    Originally perched 900 metres high on the summit of the Roc to protect itself from invasions, it wasn’t until the late Middle Ages that the inhabitants of Castellane moved down into the lower town at the foot of this natural panoramic viewpoint. At the summit of this striking peak, the chapel of Notre-Dame-du-Roc dominates this small town. Although the ramparts and thirteen of its towers have disappeared, the Pentagonale Tower is still standing. The stone bridge, called the Pont du Roc, which, for a long time, was the only strategic point for crossing the Verdon, has been destroyed and rebuilt several times. The original bridge dates back to Roman times.

    • Camping Castellane Village Et Cité De Caractère International Ciela Village
    • Roc Et Tour Pentagonale Proche Du Camping International Ciela Village Dans Le Verdon En France

      Craft industry

      The pretty little town of Castellane has managed to attract many artisans who open their doors creating beautiful aromas as you stroll through Provence. A soap factory, a perfumer, a honey-maker, you are on the ‘Lavender Route’… A potter and glass-blower will show you their craft. Finally, a little outing to the Citroën Museum will delight old car enthusiasts.

      Nature and Heritage House of Castellane

      If you want to learn more about the beautiful region of the Verdon during your holiday, visit the Nature and Heritage House in the village. On the schedule: an exhibit on marine mammals, a store and on-site activities, including outdoor excursions with a guide.

      Sirériens Trail

      Want to go for a walk with your family?

      The Siréniens Trail is ideal for a short hike with children. During this 1h30 hike, 4 km round trip starting from Col des Lèques, you will reach a geological site with 40-million-year-old fossils and bones of sea cows.  A fun activity that kids will love!

      • Camping Castellane Village Et Cité De Caractère International Ciela Village
      • Lac De Chadanne

        Swimming

        During your stay, enjoy the water with your family!

        Around Castellane, you will find many lakes and bodies of water where you can swim and cool off during your trip.

        The Lake of Chaudanne 3 km from Castellane, with turquoise water surrounded by limestone cliffs, will amaze you.

        5 km from Castellane, the Lake of Castillon is the perfect place for swimming and water sports.

        Discover other Ciela Village campsites

        CAMPING TERRA VERDON

        OPEN FROM 05/12/2023 TO 09/25/2023

        Route Napoléon - RD 4085
        04120 - CASTELLANE
        +33 (0) 492 836 667


        FOLLOW US


        INFORMATION

        NEWSLETTER

        All the news from your Ciela Village holidays


        CAMPING

        REVIEWS


        APPLICATION

        An app to easily plan your holidays at home.


        LANGUAGES


        Copyright Ciela Village 2021 - All rights reserved

VOTRE CAMPING EST OUVERT DU 07/05/2021 AU 27/09/2021

Tourisme à Castellane dans le Verdon

  • Eglise St Victor
  • Camping Castellane Village Et Cité De Caractère International Ciela Village

    Castellane est la porte d’entrée des Gorges du Verdon et borde le Lac de Castillon, l’un des plus sauvages du Verdon. Ici, la nature offre ce qu’elle a de plus beau, du chaos des Gorges, aux montagnes des pré-Alpes, et abrite un lac magnifique niché au creux d’un environnement majestueux. Cité médiévale, anciennement construite sur le fameux Roc qui la surplombe, Castellane a su préserver intact son patrimoine culturel et architectural. Pendant votre séjour dans notre camping à Castellane, flânez dans les ruelles, poussez la porte des ateliers d’artisanat. Vous bénéficiez de l’air vivifiant des Alpes additionné à la douceur provençale…  

    Lors de votre séjour à Castellane, vous n’aurez pas le temps de vous ennuyer, c’est sûr ! Vous pourrez, en effet, profiter d’un très large panel d’activités en tout genre, qui plairont autant aux enfants qu’aux parents !

    Castellane, cité médiévale dans le Verdon

    Castellane est restée très longtemps perchée tout en haut de son Roc, qui culmine à 900 m de hauteur, avant de redescendre à la fin du Moyen-âge au pied de son belvédère naturel. Au sommet de ce piton remarquable, on retrouve aujourd’hui la chapelle Notre-Dame du Roc qui domine la petite cité. Bien que les remparts et treize des tours de la cité aient été détruits, reste encore la Tour Pentagonale. Le Pont du Roc, qui fut d’ailleurs longtemps un point stratégique pour enjamber le Verdon, a, lui été détruit puis reconstruit à plusieurs reprises. Plusieurs indices laissent à penser que son origine date de l’époque des Romains.

    • Camping Castellane Village Et Cité De Caractère International Ciela Village
    • Roc Et Tour Pentagonale Proche Du Camping International Ciela Village Dans Le Verdon En France

      Découvrir l’Artisanat de Castellane

      Dans la charmante petite ville de Castellane, vous pourrez découvrir au détour d’une balade, des artisans qui ouvrent chaleureusement les portes de leurs ateliers aux visiteurs pour un voyage olfactif aux accents provençaux. Une savonnerie, un parfumeur, une miellerie, vous êtes sur la Route de la lavande… Potier et verrier vous feront découvrir leur art. Enfin, une petite visite au Musée Citroën enchantera les passionnés de véhicules anciens.

      Maison Nature et Patrimoines de Castellane

      Pour découvrir la belle région du Verdon durant vos vacances, c’est à la Maison Nature et Patrimoines au cœur de la ville qu’il faudra faire une halte ! Au programme : une exposition consacrée aux mammifères marins, une boutique ainsi que diverses animations proposées par les équipes du site, notamment des sorties en extérieur avec un guide accompagnateur.

      Le Sentier des Siréniens

      Vous avez envie de faire une petite balade en famille ?

      Le sentier des Siréniens est idéal pour une petite randonnée avec des enfants. Une balade d’1h30 environ, 4km aller-retour, au départ du Col des Lèques, vous rejoindrez un site géologique avec des fossiles et ossements de Siréniens vieux de 40 millions d’années.  Une activité ludique que les enfants vont adorer !

      • Camping Castellane Village Et Cité De Caractère International Ciela Village
      • Lac De Chadanne

        Baignade

        Durant votre séjour, profiter des plaisirs de l’eau en famille !

        Autour de Castellane, vous trouverez de nombreux lacs et points d’eaux pour pouvoir vous baigner et profiter d’une pause rafraîchissante durant vos vacances.

        À 3 km de Castellane, le lac de Chaudanne, entouré de ses falaises de calcaire et de son eau turquoise, ce lieu encore un peu sauvage a de quoi vous séduire.

        À 5 km de Castellane, le lac de Castillon, est le lieu de villégiature des vacanciers en quête de baignade et d’activités nautiques.